A learner driver needs a permit to be able to practice driving on a public road before qualifying for a driver’s license. While most young drivers are keen to start as soon as possible from age 16, most drivers over age 18 or 21 begin learning to drive at that age.
After receiving a PA learner’s permit, Pennsylvania State Law requires that, before starting to drive, young people should first get a medical qualification certificate to show they are medically fit to drive and prove they are over 16. Drivers under 18 should also attend a driver’s education theory course (three classroom sessions) before getting their learner’s permit.
Getting your license after 18 means registering for the permit and then obtaining some driving practice before completing the driving test. The details of these differences and rules for the two different age groups are explained here.
Learner’s Permit Rules for Over 18 in PA
Those applying for a learner’s permit that are over the age of 18 will find that there aren’t as many restrictions as there are for younger drivers. That said, there are still some rules to be aware of in Pennsylvania for people aged 18 and up who are seeking a Learner’s Permit.
Like younger drivers, you still need to pass the Pennsylvania learner’s permit test in order to get your permit. Additionally, once you have your permit, a driver who is at least 21 years old needs to be in the front seat with you at all times while driving. Here’s a closer look at the rules of getting your learner’s permit and license in Pennsylvania.
Rule One: You Need a PA Learners Permit
The first rule is that any learner driver over 18 who goes out on a public road to practice driving must have a learner’s permit and must be accompanied by an adult licensed driver. Learner drivers under the age of 18 may be accompanied by a family member over 18 who is a licensed driver or any licensed driver over 21. However, learners who are over 18 must be accompanied by a licensed driver who is over 21.
This rule exists to ensure that the learner driver who is over 18 is supervised, coached, and accompanied by a person who knows the rules of the road and how to drive. Driving tutors from a driving school like Driven2Drive are most helpful and skilled in imparting knowledge that learner drivers need to be able to pass their driving test.
This supervision is meant to be a safety measure, ensuring that a knowledgeable and trained driver is guiding the actions of the learner driver while they are learning to manage a vehicle on a public road.
The accompanying licensed driver, preferably a skilled driving tutor from a school like Driven2Drive, should also help the learner driver stay focused on driving and managing the car at all times. No cellphone usage is permitted while driving.
Rule Two: When Can I Get My License In PA?
People over 18 don’t have to take two years to practice driving, complete 65 hours of practice, or wait six months before they can apply for a driver’s test. They should attend the driver’s educational theory course before getting their learner’s permit, and although they may get the permit without doing so, it is highly recommended to help them pass the driving test.
Even though learner drivers over 18 do not need to accumulate 65 hours of supervised driving practice, they must still pass the road test in order to get their senior driver’s license without restriction. The consolidation of driving skills can be supported by a driving tutor from a driving school like Driven2Drive.
A learner driver who is over 18 must always be supervised by a licensed adult driver to ensure other drivers’ safety. They should also be encouraged to stay focused on the road and driving conditions to avoid causing any accidents. No cellphone usage is allowed while driving.
Why Do Over 18’s Have Different Rules?
People over the age of 18 have a little more life experience and should already have a better sense of responsibility. Statistics have shown that teenage drivers are much more likely to be involved in accidents than drivers from any other age group.
Getting your license after 18 should be a simple, stress-free process. Driven2Drive is here to help you make sense of the PA driver’s permit laws and provide all the guidance you or your teenage loved ones might need.
We offer several packages for learner drivers over 18, including manual transmission driving lessons and automatic vehicle training.
What Do I Need For My Permit Test?
Many of the steps required to take your permit test are the same whether you’re over or under the age of 18. The main difference is the identification process since you don’t need a parent or guardian to give consent.
If you are over 18, make sure you have all the items listed below with you in order to complete the knowledge test for your permit:
- A completed Non-Commercial Learner’s Permit Application (DL-180) form
- Applicable fees
- A valid physical examination completed by a healthcare provider within one year of submitting the DL-180 form
- Two proofs of residency, such as:
- current utility bills
- tax records
- a W-2 form
- lease agreement
- weapons permit
- mortgage documents
- Original ID and proof of birth
- Your social security card
- If relevant, glasses, contact lenses, or a vision test completed by a healthcare provider or optometrist
- PA Driver’s License Types Explained
- What Do I Need to Get My Learner’s Permit in PA?
- Guide to PA Permit Practice Test Questions
- PA Junior License Rules
Can you drive around with a permit if you’re over 18?
Yes, you can use a learner’s permit to drive around if you’re over 18, however, keep in mind that you’ll still need to drive with someone over the age of 21 in the front seat at all times until you have your full license.
What are the restrictions for permits in PA?
If you’re under 18, there are restrictions in place for nighttime driving, how many passengers can be in the car with you, or if you’re considered a high-risk driver. However, if you’re over 18, you’re only restricted to driving with someone who is 21 years or older in the front seat with you at all times until you get your license.
What is the curfew for 18-year-old drivers in PA?
There is no curfew for drivers 18 and over in Pennsylvania. The curfew in place applies to young drivers under the age of 18 and prohibits them from driving between the hours of 11pm and 5am.
Can you drive out-of-state with a PA permit?
Whether or not you can drive out of state depends on the state you’re traveling to as some states may not recognize out-of-state learner’s permits. Always be sure to check in advance to see if the state you’re driving to allows Pennsylvania permit-holders to drive there.
Driven2Drive is a premier driving school and the leader in Driver’s Education. From our dedicated team of instructors to our innovative state-of-the-art Driving & License Testing Centers, we are committed to instilling safe driving habits for life in a fun and interactive atmosphere. Experience the Driven2Drive difference at any of our conveniently located centers.